Watching Fast Five

Posted on May 27, 2011

0


I’ve mentioned to my friends several times how scared I am here in Korea. I can’t even do simple things like eating out, buying something from a coffee shop or watching a movie alone (which is something I’m so fond of doing when I was back home). I don’t know how it works here and I’m afraid to try it all by myself. It all started when I encountered a bad experience with a Korean guy during my first week of stay and with too much frustration with language barrier when I opened my bank account.

Towards the end of first week of May, there were a lot of FB wall posts about Fast Five. I was so jealous but I knew I had to overcome my fear first of going out alone. So after days of hesitation, I finally convinced myself to try doing it, even if it means being alone and looking like stupid. I conditioned myself to stay calm if in any case, I get stares because I’m alone or if the cashier can’t understand me.

That day, I also cooked something for lunch. So, I invited my Vietnamese friend, Quyen (pronounced as Wien). When we were having lunch, I mentioned to her that I’m about to go to a movie house and if she likes she can join me. Fortunately, after giving it some thought she said yes. I told her it is fun looking stupid when you’re with someone else, she laughed, but I was serious.

My Patsam. Ground Pork with Beans.

So off we went to Wangsimni. There are other movie houses near where we live but I opted to go somewhere farther. I was thinking that if in any case there would be a mishap it would be highly unlikely that someone we know will witness it. Lol.

Finally, we arrived in the cinema. It wasn’t that easy looking for the right floor because the directions are somewhat confusing.

Their lounge reminds me of Gateway’s Cineplex. It wasn’t too crowded because it was a weekday.

We tried observing how people purchase tickets. I immediately noticed that everyone’s holding a piece of paper and that numbers are displayed in the counter so I told Quyen that we should look for the number ticket dispenser. We saw a dispenser with a Thor sticker on it but since both of us can’t understand Korean we thought that probably it might be just for that specific movie. We decided to observe some more. After a couple of minutes, we realized that there is only one dispenser and we started laughing.

The Number Ticket Dispenser

When it was our turn to purchase the tickets I was so pleased that it went smoothly but the price was higher than what we expected.

It’s pretty much the same in the Philippines. Although, I must say, it’s more organized here.

We still have much time before the movie starts and my friend wants some coffee so we looked for the Starbucks we saw before we purchased the tickets. It was in Enter 6 (a clothing shopping mall). The mall has a fountain and a ceiling which reminds me of Venetian Hotel in Macau. Starbucks is situated near the fountain. It was when Quyen informed me that Vietnam doesn’t have Starbucks. They have Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf but not the largest coffeehouse company from Seattle.

When we arrived in the cinema, we were still thinking why it’s that expensive so we concluded that we might have paid for IMAX. Much to our surprise, the usherette did not give us 3D glasses. When we got inside, we were still trying to figure out why we paid more. We then thought that probably it’s because of the seats we chose. The movie started and the seats suddenly moved. We laughed. Our seatmates probably thought we’re weird but we kept laughing and smiling. Only at that point did we realize that what we bought was for 4D. It was my first time watching a movie in 4D and I kept smiling the whole time. In one of the fight scenes, one of the bad guys fired his gun then suddenly the hair on top of my left ear was blown by a forceful air. I was surprised that I uttered an expression in Filipino. It was silly I know. I was trying so hard not to laugh aloud. I thought to myself, it was just perfect, Fast Five and 4D. It was incredible.

The movie is already finished but we were still giggling like kids. I told her that it might have been expensive but it was worth it and she agreed.

That day (May 11, 2011), ended with me having some of my confidence back.

Meet Quyen, my Vietnamese friend

