Exploring Seoul with a Passport in My Pocket

Posted on September 6, 2011

0


I had to wake up earlier than usual. It was a struggle. I peeked through my window and the sky is dark. “It must not rain,” I muttered to myself. Pictures are always great with sunlight’s help. I prayed though that if it rains it wouldn’t be that much. It’s the first time that I’ll be joining an activity for bloggers. Well, it was the first time I had a chance. Undoubtedly, I was excited and I was hoping it would turn out great.

Korea Tourism Organization (KTO) was responsible for the said free tour which they called Real Touch Korea Seoul Tour Season 1. They selected and invited bloggers who featured ibuzz Korea, which is a website they maintain wherein one can share their experiences in Korea.

The program started with a briefing in KTO’s Headquarters. During the briefing, we had a chance to introduce ourselves and we were given few details about the activities lined up for us that day. We were assigned into groups and once again my friendliness was put into test.

Before we leave KTO’s office we were given a small booklet. It was our passport for the tour, literally. I’m still raving about it and I really admire KTO for that creative idea.  I regard it as one of the highlights of the  tour.

Each team was assigned with one KTO staff who would take our pictures and assist us. Very convenient.

Our first activity for the day was learning how to play Samulnori, which I was so enthusiastic about.

Then, we had our lunch of Ssam in Insa-dong. It was when I discovered another delicious Korean food, Neobiani.

The rain didn’t stop us from visiting and exploring Bukchon Hanok Village, which lasted for more than an hour and was the last part of the tour.

So, what’s my feedback about the tour? There was a chance to load the schedule with more places and more activities but I think what KTO considered is for us to enjoy the moment  rather than feel  like we were  in a rush. Usually, when you’re in a tour you miss the opportunity to have your picture taken in the spot that you like. I don’t like that kind of feeling because I know that for days I’d feel sorry for the missed opportunity. Personally, I think the way the tour was carried out was very effective not just in making the experience memorable but also in forging friendships. We had enough time to chat and get to know the KTO staff and the other bloggers.

Like they say, all good things come to an end. In the afternoon, we headed back to KTO’s office and the program was officially ended by providing as gifts.

I think you’d appreciate my stories more by watching this video:

Posted in: Korea, Seoul