The Namsan Cable Car

Posted on January 11, 2012

2


One way of going to Namsan Tower is by cable car. It became more popular because it has been used in some Korean dramas and the last one I am aware of is Boys Over Flowers.

The first time I went to Namsan was by bus so earlier I decided to try the cable car. I wasn’t really excited but I don’t want to wonder how it feels like to be in a cable car for the rest of my life.

As soon as I got out of the subway station, an ajumma approached me and talked to me in Japanese.  I didn’t understand so I continued walking. Towards the stairs to the cable car station, I saw several Koreans standing. I knew they were waiting for tourists and when I reached the stairs, another ajumma went near me and talked to me in Mandarin. I simply shook my head and she went away.

The route of the cable car is just short. But then again, I just wanted to try so up I went to buy my ticket.

People didn’t wait for the bell maybe because they want to be in their preferred spot.

I wasn’t able to get the spot beside the window so it was a bit difficult taking pictures and recording videos.

It was a short ride, probably less than 15 minutes and I wasn’t thrilled maybe because I already experienced zip lining. I think if you’ve done zip lining before, this wouldn’t appeal that much anymore. But an advantage of the cable car is if you’re from Myeong-dong and you want to get to Namsan fast this would be a great way.

If you watched Boys Over Flowers you’d be looking for this vendo machine. When I bought my ticket I didn’t see it so I thought they removed it already.

How to get to the cable car station:

  1.  Go out from Exit 3 of Myeong-dong Station.
  2. Walk towards Pacific Hotel. Facing Pacific Hotel there are two ways, in the left and in the right. The information I found from the web says to just walk straight but since I saw more people coming from the right, I went that way.
  3. Then you’d see wooden stairs. You’d see the cables for the cars too. You have to go up.
  4. Walk a bit and on your right you’d see the cable car station

Posted in: Korea, Seoul