Seoul’s Namsan Tower

Posted on January 12, 2012

2


My friend asked me, “What is Seoul’s famous landmark? If Paris has Eiffel Tower and London has Big Ben, what’s for Seoul?”

The question shocked me. It was tough. It took me a few seconds to react. I was unsure but I confidently said, “Namsan Tower.” Fortunately, I sounded convincing but deep inside I’m not sure whether it should really be the tower or the palaces. Then, in my mind, I told myself, “No, the palaces should be China’s landmark.” That’s how I was able to convince myself that I gave the right answer.

Namsan Tower is an observatory and communication tower which is known to be an icon for Seoul. It was built in 1969 and was opened to the public in 1980.

One reason to go there is to see the spectacular view of downtown Seoul.

But I think most visitors are more interested in seeing and having their pictures taken with the padlocks. There’s probably a million padlocks hanging around the railings of the tower now. 🙂

If visitors get hungry, there are snack shops, cafes and several restaurants to choose from. There are also souvenir shops inside the tower.

Other attractions include the Observatory and the Teddy Bear Museum.

That day I just wanted to see the Teddy Bear Museum and to see Namsan Tower at night. I wasn’t interested in going to the Observatory although I was curious on how the Sky Restroom looks like.

How to get there:

By Cable Car

By Namsan Shuttle Bus

Posted in: Korea, Seoul