Gyeongbokgung Palace in Winter

Posted on February 22, 2012

6


I don’t know much about the history of Gyeongbok Palace. All I know is that it is the biggest and the main palace among the Five Grand Palaces of the Joseon Dynasty.

Last year,  I intentionally avoided visiting the place because I want to go there this year. I want to take its picture for every season of this year. I do have an intention of exploring all the palaces but I want to do it by late summer to early fall so that pictures would look better.

So, for my first picture of the palace I want it with snow. I thought I won’t be able to do it anymore but it snowed heavily as January was about to end. I went there the next day. As usual, I was feeling lazy to go out but I realized it might not snow again. I hurriedly change my clothes and headed to the subway. It’s past 3 in the afternoon and I assumed that my travel time  would be around 45 minutes to an hour. I arrived at 4 and the palace is about to close at 5 because it’s winter. I didn’t have to pay for the KRW 3,000 fee  and it wasn’t crowded anymore. Yey!

Ganghwamun Gate

2nd Gate: Heungnyemun Gate

3rd Gate: Geunjeongmun Gate and Yeongjegyo Bridge

Main Hall

The only tour group at that time headed on the opposite direction of the palace grounds. So, as I walked to the place where the royal banquet hall is, it was so quiet. Serenity 🙂

Royal Banquet Hall

A few more walks, a few more pictures then there was an announcement in Korean. That made me check the time and it’s 15 minutes before 5 so I assumed (again) that it’s a reminder that the palace was about to close. I thought I’d have a hard time finding my way back to the gate but lucky me I saw the tour group again.

These doors/dividers are truly ingenious.

I wasn’t able to see much of the palace. I think I haven’t even seen1/4 of it. I’ll reserve it for the fall.

How to get there:

Ganghwamun Station Line 5 Exit 2 and a few meters walk –> I used this route 🙂

Gyeongbokgung Station Line 3 Exit 5

Posted in: Korea, Seoul