Seoul Lantern Festival 2012

Posted on November 10, 2012

0


I wasn’t able to see the  lanterns last year so I told myself that I should go this year. My friend told me that it wasn’t something really spectacular but I said I would go anyway. Not that I don’t trust my friend but I would also like to see the lanterns from Philippines.

The festival started last November 2nd but when I went to Cheonggyecheon there was too much crowd and the queue was ridiculously long so I decided to see the lanterns on another day instead.

Seoul Cinema, where I watched JUMP, is already near Cheonggyecheon so I decided to check out the lanterns after watching the show.

There were still a lot of people even if it was a week night but not as much as when the festival started.

Cheonggyecheon or Cheonggye Stream is 8.4 kilometers and has 22 bridges. I was already tired looking for the cinema earlier that day so after a few minutes of strolling along the stream and the Philippine lanterns were still nowhere in sight I decided that I had enough walking for the day.

If you happen to be in Seoul and wants to see the lanterns, it opens at 5:00 PM and closes at 11:00. The lantern festival is until November 18th.

Here are some of the lanterns:

HOW TO GET THERE via SUBWAY:

The entrance is nearest to Subway Line # 5. Alight at Gwanghwamun station and use exit 5. Walk straight.

Note:

Gyeongbokgung is also near Cheonggyecheon so you may want to visit the palace after lunch and drop by the stream to see the lanterns afterwards. From Gyeongbokgung, walk straight (you will pass by King Sejong’s statue) and the stream is on the left.

Posted in: Korea, Seoul